Sponsored By:

958 Serpentine/Drive Belt Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2019, 08:23 PM
jtakhtalian
Instructor

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default 958 Serpentine/Drive Belt Replacement

I changed the drive belt on my 2013 Cayenne GTS today. It was a pretty straightforward project except for one item which I wanted to mention to you all in case you try it yourself. I have an AllDataDIY subscription but the reality under the hood and the instructions were slightly different.

The only thing that gave me pause for a moment was how to relieve the belt tensioner so I could remove the belt. The manual says to use a 30mm socket or an open end wrench. Then it shows what appears to be a six sided nut type fastener to place the socket or wrench on. My reality however consisted of something entirely different.

Long story short, just find the belt tensioner and follow it up to where it's fastened to the engine block. Then take an adjustable wrench and place it on the part that doesn't look like it will move (See picture for reference. It has a T50 torx screw going through it). Start turning the wrench clockwise and the tensioner will eventually loosen, allowing you to easily remove the belt.

It makes sense if you look at the picture below. I should have taken the photo when everything was off but I did my best after the fact (I wasn't planning on posting this at the time).

In the picture, the beauty covers are off, the intake tubing is removed, I'm standing directly in front of the car on the driver's side, and my finger is pointing to the part where you place the wrench and turn clockwise. The belt tensioner is directly below the piece you turn.