Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CTT 04 Self Leveling Sensor Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2010 | 11:37 PM
chily2008
Instructor

Default CTT 04 Self Leveling Sensor Problems

I have had my 04 CTT for awhile. The CTT is great. No major problems. Ever since I remember, when you start the car, a warning "air suspension faulty". Everything seemed to work fine so I never really bothered with it. Within the past few months, I decided to play around to see if I could fix it. The reason I finally tried to fix it is 1. I was sick of the warning, 2. I cannot feel any difference between the different shock absorber settings (I feel that I am pretty in tune with suspensions- I was a test driver for a major company in the past).

I hooked up my durametric and I got a reading of "774 Vehicle Level Sensor Rear Left No Signal/Communication Present". I figured that I had a bad sensor so I switched the right and left sensor to see if I then get a warning on the right side. Unfortunately, I still got the left warning (yes, I did clear the warning light prior). My stubborn mind refused to accept that the problem wasn't the sensor so I purchased a new one. I cleared the old code, installed the new sensor and I still get the warning.

I have thoroughly checked the connector and wiring until it enters the body- everything seems fine.

One things that may be related to the problem is that the previous owner did install a renntech lowering module. It is installed in the right rear where a cd changer goes. It looks like some wires were cut and spliced. Are there any wires in the mentioned compartment that if hooked up wrong, could cause a lack of communication between the brains and sensor?

Any ideas?

Are the different shock absorber settings usually noticeable?

Thank you in advance
Old 01-29-2010 | 12:43 AM
bigbuzuki
Pro

My 2003 Cayenne Turbo consistently had the "air suspension faulty" message on start up as well.