Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2004, 07:05 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Question analog vs digital brake controller

I've been reading the recent threads regarding brake controllers/towing with a Cayenne.

As an electrical engineer, I realize I tend to look a things a bit differently and am new to towing, but I am somewhat puzzled by a 'digital' brake controller and not really surprised with the problems that the Prodigy is having with the Cayenne's electrical/diagnostic system.

What is the advantage of a Prodigy over an analog controller (assuming both can be mounted in any position, which is standard today)?

A conventional/analog brake controller has a very simple function to perform (and quite easy to design from scratch if one were so inclined) and doesn't cause any problems with embedded diagnostics built into the Cayenne's towing controller module that have been described here.

I'm not for any particular brake controller, just trying to understand the advantages of the digital one over a conventional one.
Old 06-28-2004, 08:40 PM
Kevin M.
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

Well sometimes going with the best unit on the market isn't the wise choice.. Thats the only reason I went with the digital controller..
Old 06-28-2004, 09:18 PM
wingless
analyst
Rennlist Member

Received 166 Likes on 98 Posts

Lewis,

My read on the advantage of the Prodigy http://www.tekonsha.com/prodig.html as compared to a standard analog brake controller is that it has automatic leveling, so that the brake function is not influenced by the incline or the mounting angle.

Otherwise, a standard analog brake controller would work well with the Cayenne and not require vehicle wiring modifications.
Old 06-28-2004, 10:15 PM
BarryC
Rennlist Member

Received 169 Likes on 46 Posts