Sponsored by:

New Member - 2001 Boxster S

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 12:43 PM
TCN
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member - 2001 Boxster S

First Porsche; Seal Gray with Red interior.

First, I'd like to thank all of you, as searching posts here both before and after purchase yielded a lot of good information. So I went from "lurker" to "newbie".

It's been a rough experience at times; for example, the oil pressure warning light had been covered up by a black piece of paper behind the instrument cluster. Also, the 60K service had been done incorrectly by the Porsche dealer that did it (I had the records), resulting in me having to have the sparkplug tube seals redone to stop two oil leaks, but I suppose it is what it is.

I also went ahead and did the IMS service. (Done by David Laing at Ruf, here in the Detroit area).

Not sure what I can add to such a knowledgeable group, but I am a lawyer and insurance guy, so perhaps I can chime in there when needed.
Old 07-18-2012, 02:42 PM
Byprodriver
Rennlist Member

Received 173 Likes on 135 Posts

Originally Posted by TCN

First, I'd like to thank all of you, as searching posts here both before and after purchase yielded a lot of good information. So I went from "lurker" to "newbie".

It's been a rough experience at times; for example, the oil pressure warning light had been covered up by a black piece of paper behind the instrument cluster. Also, the 60K service had been done incorrectly by the Porsche dealer that did it (I had the records), resulting in me having to have the sparkplug tube seals redone to stop two oil leaks, but I suppose it is what it is.

I also went ahead and did the IMS service. (Done by David Laing at Ruf, here in the Detroit area).

Not sure what I can add to such a knowledgeable group, but I am a lawyer and insurance guy, so perhaps I can chime in there when needed.