Sponsored by:

Engine removal/replacement on 2003 Boxter

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Michael Everson
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine removal/replacement on 2003 Boxter

I am new to the Porsche world but not to high performance cars. I currently drive a 2007 Z06 and my daily driver is a 2006 Dodge Magnum SRT8

I am considering buying a 2003 Boxter with 24K miles that has a damaged engine. I was told by the owner that the Intermediate shaft failed.
How hard is it to remove and replace the engine? Is the engine serviceable or should it just be replaced? The owner is asking $10,000 for the car.
I am pretty mechanically inclined. I have built about 26 Replicas and done lots of engine work I even have 2 lifts in my garage. Is this a good DIY project?
Thanks Mike
Old 03-05-2010, 11:56 AM
GTA_G20
Racer

The Labour isnt the issue, the replacement motor is. He's asking too much for the shell. By the time you find a new transplant the cost of that+the shell will be near the price of a running boxster in my opinion
Old 03-05-2010, 12:28 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 254 Likes on 224 Posts

Originally Posted by Michael Everson
I am new to the Porsche world but not to high performance cars. I currently drive a 2007 Z06 and my daily driver is a 2006 Dodge Magnum SRT8

I am considering buying a 2003 Boxter with 24K miles that has a damaged engine. I was told by the owner that the Intermediate shaft failed.
How hard is it to remove and replace the engine? Is the engine serviceable or should it just be replaced? The owner is asking $10,000 for the car.
I am pretty mechanically inclined. I have built about 26 Replicas and done lots of engine work I even have 2 lifts in my garage. Is this a good DIY project?
Thanks Mike
GTA_G20 is right. Price too high for non-running Boxster with "blown" engine.

Call local Porsche dealer and get quote on factory replacement engine cost and labor. Ask how many hours.