Sponsored by:

Torque Settings

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2005, 06:12 PM
MoreIBNR
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque Settings

I have to replace my brake pads on my 2002 Boxster. Does anyone have the appropriate torque values for the appropriate bolts I need to remove? Thanks.
Old 04-03-2005, 01:17 AM
Turboflyer
Pro

Have you ever done a brake job before. Not trying to sound like a know it all but there is a bit more than just the bolt torques you need to know. I would invest in the appropriate reference manual or CD before you dive in.
Old 04-03-2005, 05:09 AM
MoreIBNR
Advanced

I've been doing brake jobs on my cars for the last 30 years. However, I realize there may be some unique things I need to know about in order to swap pads on my Boxster, so if in addition to the torque settings, I would really appreciate it if anyone could point these out also. I should note that I have no pulsing or other symptoms that would indicate anything amiss.
Old 04-03-2005, 12:16 PM
Turboflyer
Pro

I do apologige. I have an 01S but will try and find the specs. It just seem that some folks buy a Porsche and then want to start doing all their own maintenance with no back background at all. Brakes are simple but could be a real problem done wrong as i am sure you know. reminds me of the 59 nash I pulled the head on when I was a kid and had no clue what to do after that.
Old 04-03-2005, 12:21 PM
MoreIBNR
Advanced

Thanks. I do want to do it soon (preferably today) to be ready for DE at Pocono this weekend.
Old 04-03-2005, 09:36 PM
Tool Pants
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There is no torque values for a brake pad replacement. You pull out a clip and drive out a pin. Then pull the pads out.

The caliper does not need to be removed.
Old 04-04-2005, 01:19 AM
MoreIBNR
Advanced

Thanks, Tool Pants. I haven't taken the wheel off yet or I would have seen that. Most of my previous/other cars require the removal of a bolt. I guess I should have looked first.