Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best diagnostic tools available to us?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2018, 01:31 PM
Doug427
Advanced

Received 10 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Best diagnostic tools available to us?

I'm new to Porsche and also to Rennlist, so I'm still on a steep learning curve. I have owned multiple Mercedes Benz vehicles, and I am aware of the STAR program that MB dealers use for diagnosing the cars. There are many versions of the STAR computer based program, with the applicable mulitiplexer box, available on the net, eBay, etc so we can have our own STAR setups at home.

I know I have seen two different Porsche dealer diagnostic setups mentioned on the internet. Are either of them commonly available as a ready to go package to owners without costing an arm and a leg? The MB STAR setups on the net commonly sell for about $750 including the computer it runs on and the multipex box. What is the best, most comprehensive setup available to us as owners, and where do we go to get one?

I found the Durametric setup using the search function, is that about as good as it gets? Have any of you used the iCarSoft for Porsche (assuming they have one)? I have one of them for M-B, and it's ok, not great.
Old 02-12-2018, 09:33 PM
mikefocke
Burning Brakes

Received 100 Likes on 70 Posts

PST2 - discontinued but sometimes available on the used market like ebay
PIWIS - IIRC only rental and not financially sensible for a single car
Durametric - well supported in its legal versions, new versions require a specific cable, watch out for old versions and cloned cables sold on the used markets, come in versions limited to 3 vehicles (Enthusiast) and one for unlimited (Professional). Requires a Windows laptop
Old 02-22-2018, 08:59 AM
Doug427
Advanced

Received 10 Likes on 3 Posts