Sponsored by:

From a micro car to a mini car: OT new toy

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2012, 06:07 PM
dianic
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default From a micro car to a mini car: OT new toy

I have been contemplating changing my Smart Brabus car for a few months, as my kids have grown old enough and I need rear seats for the occasional short trip...

My little smart car has been with me for 8 years! That is not an affair anymore, its a relationship, and its the longest I have had with any of my cars. They came and went, but the Smart was a constant value. And it was an amazing little car. Not only for parking vertically (!) but also because that little three cylinder turbo drove excellent. The Brabus package was really what set it apart, and it always made me smile when I drove it and had to punch it!

So as you realize these were hard shoes to fill. The new car had to be an automatic for city driving, small enough, and funky, with an interesting interior, had to have forced induction - life is too short to drive cars without it.

There were two contenders. A VW Polo which on this side of the pond comes with a 1.4lt engine and 180 whopping horses, turbo and supercharged. But a bit bland. Inside and out. And not a convertible. Nice gearbox and all, and german craftmaship...

And a fiat 500. So when I came across an Abarth convertible which is the only version that comes with an auto box, priced right for the Greek crisis (and an amazing trade in price for the smart) I jumped on it.