Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

business ethics question..

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2017, 08:19 PM
powdrhound
Rennlist Member

Received 1,707 Likes on 995 Posts
Default business ethics question..

So here is a question business ethics question for you guys. I’ve been buying and selling parts on various forums for many years and have never run into a situation like this before either with sellers or buyers.

I earlier this week I found a gearbox advertised on Ebay advertised by one of the members here. The Ebay listed the seller’s phone number number to call with any questions. I called the seller in the afternoon and after a lengthy discussion we came to an agreement on price, payment, shipping information, etc. It was during this conversation that we both realized we were on Rennlist here. This gave me a warm and fuzzy because I alway to prefer doing business with fellow gear heads here. Since I have access to Porsche Motorsport parts which I bring in directly from Europe, the seller also asked me if I could give him a quote on a laundry list of parts which he’s looking to purchase. I agreed to do as this was my way of extending thanks to a fellow Rennlister for what I perceived to be a very smooth transaction regarding the purchase of the gearbox.

The seller asked me to email him my information so he could send me an official invoice from his company with the various “sold as is” disclaimers. I emailed him everything as requested as soon as we hung up the phone that afternoon.