Watkins Glen DE with video

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 11:06 PM
dantzig
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Watkins Glen DE with video

This was my first time at Watkins Glen - what a fun track! It was a weekend DE put on by MetroNY PCA, who did a great job. Perfect weather too.

Friday I was a mentor in instructor training, and I also got some coaching from an experienced racer with a lot of laps at WGI. The video below was from Sunday morning. I feel like I am getting used to the RS, and I was starting to figure out the track. The first lap in the video was my best for the weekend, and the next two were similar, but I caught some traffic. Comparing TraqMate data with a friend who was also there, I can see where I could gain at least a second with faster entries into several of the corners. Wish I had one more day to try it out...

Jon

Old 08-20-2013, 12:05 AM
RSRanger
Three Wheelin'

Received 47 Likes on 32 Posts

Very nice video.

Ranger (six silent men)
Old 08-20-2013, 12:48 AM
jenk12m
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks Jon, that's one of my favorite tracks
Old 08-20-2013, 02:46 AM
stujelly
Rennlist Member

Received 54 Likes on 42 Posts

favorite track. Ran there with my RS. Had a blast.

From indiana?? Are you one of Hal's BSers
Old 08-20-2013, 09:19 AM
dantzig
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Originally Posted by stujelly
favorite track. Ran there with my RS. Had a blast.

From indiana?? Are you one of Hal's BSers
I don't think so, since I don't know what it means.

I did meet a guy at an event earlier this year at Putnam Park or Mid-Ohio who was named Jelly. Relation?

Jon
Old 08-20-2013, 09:20 AM
dantzig
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Originally Posted by jenk12m
Thanks Jon, that's one of my favorite tracks
Thanks, Mike. I used videos that you and Trakcar posted to help get me acquainted with the track before I went.

Jon
Old 08-20-2013, 10:21 AM
jenk12m
Banned