-1.7 -2.2 camber
.22 / .14 toe

RR (before/after)
-1.8 / -2.4 camber
0.2 / 0.14 toe

Rear (before/after)
0.42 / 0.28 total toe
0.01 / 0.00 thrust angle

- I'm not exactly happy that the tech didn't work harder to even out the L / R camber

- As I am new to the Porsche world, but having read a little on rennlist about the 996gt3, I can assume after speaking with the tech that the 997gt3 will also require one of the 3 discussed methods ofgetting more than negative 1.7 to the front tires

- I do find it funny that Porsche states specs for the "track" alignment in the manual that actually cannot be achieved (the service manager gave be the legal bs about the strut can't be rotated by them or the holes can't be made bigger at the porsche shop)

- I had mentioned the other day that one of the reasons that I took the car in was that I didn't like the way the car reacted mid corner when I hit some bumps but the stock alignment seems like it was fine

Last edited by 997gt3north; 01-09-2007 at 09:27 PM.
Old 01-09-2007, 07:31 PM
frayed
Race Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

- good to see the factory alignment, while conservative, wasn't F'd up like on so many 996 GT3s

- sounds like you have a mod unfriendly dealer. some are, some are a bit more liberal

- have heard a few people now complaining about mid corner bumpsteer
Old 01-09-2007, 07:48 PM
997gt3north
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

- also, when the tech drove the car around to the front of the service area, I asked him what the current sway bar settings were, he couldn't remember so he lay down on the ground and felt around

His answer

Front Bar has 4 holes and it is set to 2nd softest

Rear Bar has 3 holes - he said it was set to the hardest???? - I asked again and he said it was set to the inner most setting???

This is funny as I would have thought that the factory would have set up the rear with the ability to adjust more oversteer in??? - maybe maybe he got it backwards??