Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

3,8 GT3 engine tuning

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2018 | 06:03 AM
Beetspeed
5th Gear

Default 3,8 GT3 engine tuning

After a long search I found a 997.2 GT3 3,8 engine (donor car was in an accident) with a 'few scratches' and without exhaust, intake or ecu. But the price was right :-)
Its meant to be installed in an older project car, so emissions are not a concern. Sound is a concern to some degree as I want it road legal.
This got me thinking: why not try improve the intake and exhaust with free-er flowing parts and use a stand-alone ecu? I have some experience with the latter :-)

What I however don't know is what gains can be had from the original block without changing cams or compression? As I am thinking about (tapered 51mm) individual throttle bodies for intakes and as they do cost more then an original intake (I think) and as I have no clue how efficient the original parts really are, I was hoping some of you here might know what gains are to be had by all of this. Basically: would such an intake outperform any stock (Cup) parts?

The original design of these Mezger engines seems to originate from the 962 racers, so what if you would outfit an otherwise stock 3,8 GT3 long block with ITB's and a proper header exhaust system?
How much hp would then be possible with the right tune? And how much RPM can these engines safely endure for short periods of time?
Are there any tuners/racers out there that have done this already?

Thanks in advance,
Walter
Old 07-24-2018 | 11:36 AM
bobodrink
Rennlist Member

HP gains from tuners are modest but at least 10-15hp and TQ. For RMPs some tunes will give you 8700-8800.
Old 07-25-2018 | 10:02 PM
MJSpeed
The Rebel
Lifetime Rennlist