Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

remove gear box from engine

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2017, 01:56 PM
yelcab
Three Wheelin'

Received 637 Likes on 397 Posts
Default remove gear box from engine

This is my first time doing a clutch on a 2007 GT3. I am attempting to do this without removing the engine, just the gear box. Everything is disconnected but I am having a hard time trying to pry the gearbox away from the engine. It is only about 1/4 inch separated.

The triangle bracket at the top of the gearbox has been removed.

Is there a requirement to separate the throw out bearing ?

Or just a matter of prying harder?
Old 08-27-2017, 02:48 PM
32krazy!
Drifting

Received 32 Likes on 24 Posts

did you remove the clutch fork rod from inside the bellhousing? its accesed from the vent tube on the d/s of the trans. remove the vent tube remove the 10mm bolt and bracket remove the black plug and then screw a 6mm bolt into the cap of the fork rod and pull it out
Old 08-27-2017, 03:58 PM
yelcab
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by 32krazy!
did you remove the clutch fork rod from inside the bellhousing? its accesed from the vent tube on the d/s of the trans. remove the vent tube remove the 10mm bolt and bracket remove the black plug and then screw a 6mm bolt into the cap of the fork rod and pull it out
Thanks. It is like the old G50 transmission on 1989 Carrera then. I will get to that.
Old 08-27-2017, 05:07 PM
Fisher
Pro

Received 69 Likes on 27 Posts

Sounds like a smart move to me. According to the previous owner of my car, the dealer dropped the gear box to replace the leaking RMS.

On other vehicles, I have removed engines and sometimes a transmission. It was always much easier to keep the engine in place. Don't need to mess with coolant, oil lines, electronics and other systems not associated with the transmission.

Is there a reason why we hear so often about dropping the engine for clutch work and replacing the RMS?
Old 08-28-2017, 01:21 AM
Spyerx
Rennlist Member