Sponsored by:

New 997 Owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2016, 02:37 PM
Conan Dombroski
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New 997 Owner

Hope this is the expected place for a post like this...

I just bought a 2005 997. Haven't taken delivery yet (it's being shipped). I'm pretty sure it's a .1 not a .2. Super excited as I've always loved/wanted 911's.

First, a little personal background: I'm a male software engineer in my late 40's. I have some experience with cars of all types and configurations. Some of my previous "sport" vehicles for reference are, in no particular order: Lotus Elise, Mini Cooper S, Audi S4, 350Z, WRX. For what it's worth, I also have about 12 years of track experience (this may be somewhat relevant in a second), including racing 944spec in NASA, Midwest region.

So for those who haven't died of boredom so far, I have a few questions. Since I intend to track the car, it looks like I should get the optional 3rd radiator? My other immediate concern is brakes. With the exception of the Elise, every car I've ever driven on track has needed a brake upgrade. It looks like the C2S brakes are bigger? Will they bolt right up to mine? Or are my concerns unwarranted?

Thanks for reading.
Old 02-23-2016, 03:24 PM
Philster
Three Wheelin'

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I think you need the expanded and better baffled oil sump/pan mod, too, to prevent oil starvation.

BTW: 997.2 is 2009 and later, with DFI engine.

Old 02-23-2016, 03:25 PM
r6elmo
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

did you get a C2S or just a regular C2? if 2005 then it's a 997.1
i would say the car stock is fine for track usage, i'd just change out the brake fluid and brake lines and you're set. witnessed a bunch of 997s going around the track just fine at a good B pace even with stocker tires
Old 02-23-2016, 04:35 PM
Conan Dombroski
Instructor

Originally Posted by r6elmo
did you get a C2S or just a regular C2?
It's a standard C2. No S.
Old 02-23-2016, 04:42 PM
Conan Dombroski