Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Can I drive your car?"

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2015 | 10:06 PM
Supermode
Racer

Default "Can I drive your car?"

How often do you get asked this by family members or close friends? I'm still new to the Pcar world. I bought my first 911 this past December ('11 C4S) and some of my family and friends still don't know I got it. This past weekend I took her out of storage for a quick spin. I stopped by a buddy of mine I grew up with and he couldn't believe it. First thing out of his mouth was "Can I drive it?". I quickly ignored it and changed the subject, but it got me thinking: who do you let drive your car that you trust? Besides my brother, I have not let anyone else behind the wheel.
Old 02-23-2015 | 10:13 PM
ADias
Nordschleife Master

I do not drive other people's cars and they do not drive mine. I have been offered to drive other people's cars and I refused. Stuff happens and this way everyone is safe.
Old 02-23-2015 | 10:14 PM
ltcjmramos
Addict
Rennlist Member

I let a couple of folks drive my 6GT3, a very special car. In fact, I offered to let them drive it. But no one has asked to drive the GTS, which, of course, is just another Porsche.
Old 02-23-2015 | 10:28 PM
nzskater
Rennlist Member

I let anyone with a full drivers license drive. You only live once, as do they, and it's made to be enjoyed. As long as it's insured I'm happy to share in the enjoyment!!
Old 02-23-2015 | 10:48 PM
sambb
Instructor

How does it work - insurance wise - if they drive and wreck it?
Old 02-23-2015 | 10:52 PM
provoste
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by nzskater
I let anyone with a full drivers license drive. You only live once, as do they, and it's made to be enjoyed. As long as it's insured I'm happy to share in the enjoyment!!