Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Winter Porsche Driving: Who does it? Is the C4/C4s really better than the C2/C2s?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2014, 09:35 AM
deeplo
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winter Porsche Driving: Who does it? Is the C4/C4s really better than the C2/C2s?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the rennlist and forums, and first must say how wonderful a resource this is, and that I look forward to being an active contributor in the future.

I am currently in the market for a 997-Gen2 - and would like it to be my daily driver. I live in the Northeast - New York/Connecticut area.

I'm aware of some of the classic discussion points between the C2/C2s and the C4/C4s ( driving, handling, wide body aesthetic, classic porsche feel), but I wonder, for those of you that actually drive your Porsches in the winter, especially in the Northeast, how you believe your P-Cars fare in the winter conditions.

Are there any distinct advantages o the C4/C4s over the C2/C2s in actual northeast winter driving? What are the limitations? Do you ever say - "leaving it in the garage today."

Also, what do you do to prepare your Porsches for winter driving?

Thanks!
Old 01-10-2014, 10:32 AM
997_Toronto
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

First year owning a 2007 C2 and loving it in the Toronto winter. A good set of winter tires and common sense makes driving this car a lot of fun even in the winter. The C4 will obviously do better from a traction standpoint, the S on either will add more options & power but I doubt will impact winter driving.

Welcome to the forum.

Check out this thread: https://rennlist.com/forums/997-foru...-much-fun.html
Old 01-10-2014, 10:44 AM
TommyV44
Drifting

Received 472 Likes on 270 Posts

I'm on my 4th 911 and live exactly where you do.

I've had one C2 and 3 C4Ss….IMO there's a big difference in handling in the snow with the C4S over the C2 which is why I buy them!