Sponsored by:

Getting ready to buy...guidance needed

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 04:04 AM
YBStar2
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting ready to buy...guidance needed

Hey all. I have been lurking around the boards for a bit admiring everybody's rides. To introduce myself, I’m a 33yo newly-minted surgeon who has been looking to buy a Porsche for sometime. The first Porsche i fell in love with was the 996 C4S. I am now in the position to purchase one. As far as my budget, I'd like to keep it at 45k or less. Preferably under 50k miles. Also, I plan on paying in cash (i hate being in debt). I am not too concerned about resale value, as plan on keeping my car for the foreseeable future. In performing my due diligence, i realize that my choices are as follows:

CPO 997C2
Private sale C2S
Private/Dealer sale 996 Turbo
Private/Dealer sale 996 C4S (i can save 5-7k with this option)

I have heard the phrase "buy the newest you can afford" and it makes reasonable sense. That would push me toward the 997. However, I am one of those wh actually really likes the MKII 996 look. It seems as if the turbo is the most bang for the buck, by far. Furthermore, the Metzger engine is quite bulletproof/reliable with no IMS/RMS issues. That being said, how much should I be concerned by the prospect of buying a 10year-old car? Issues with maintenance and parts availability?

I have a buddy with a 1996 993 with 200k miles and another with a 2002 C4S with 80k miles, and they both swear by the reliability and nearly non-existent maintenance worries of their vehicles.Long post, I know, and I realize that I’m kind of allover the place, but I’m just trying to make the wisest and most informed decision on what i see as an awesome opportunity to own my first Porsche. Any input is much appreciated. I look forward to joining the community

Thanks in advance.

YB
Old 10-04-2012, 04:25 AM
Arctic Wolf
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by YBStar2