Sponsored by:

997.1 Performance Modifications - Fact of Fiction

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2012, 08:03 PM
maxrod
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997.1 Performance Modifications - Fact of Fiction

I will first admit that I am no expert in Porsches, as I was born with BMW's since my first 3.0CS and then raced 2002 Tii in SCCA.

In reading many of the posts, many if not most have stated that Porsche has really squeezed out most of the performance when the send the cars across the pond and therefore anything that can be gained is minimal from the HP perspective from the various options.

Now, usually the first thing that I do to a car is the suspension. I either lower with performance springs, thicker bars or both. Usually both. That was the first thing I did with my 996 C4 using the M030 and I loved it. Wife hated it, but then again, I said "that is why you drive a MB". :-)

I always felt the stock power of the 996 was good enough to beat a Mustang GT in a Light to Light sprint. Enough said.

Now with the new toy, I am doing the same thing, except that I opted for the Bils BS14's. Ordered them from Carnewal and waiting. Next I need to decide on a set of bars.

From an engine perspective, It is always been a known fact that if you let more air in and more air out, in essence you will produce more HP. This will require Headers (everyone seems to recommend the x51 variants), and might as well replace the entire exhaust with less restrictive CATS. The Air Box, I have never believed much in the claims of K&N, but the X51 Airbox looks like the recipe. The last thing is of course with more air in and out, is a new SW MAP. Several choices here: AWE, Shark, MAxSpeed, etc.

As we do not have the luxury of long High Speed runs, our joy is limited to 1) Sound 2) Torque.

How would you guys suggest to increase the fun factor of increased Torque?