Sponsored by:

996tt vs 997 interior -- pics inside

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2012, 11:04 AM
nuclearfishin
Burning Brakes

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 996tt vs 997 interior -- pics inside

Ok, so I'm new to p-cars but have been doing a lot of reading and have come across the same dilemma many others have mentioned here. do I get a 996tt or a 997.1cs? One thing that keeps coming up is the difference in interior. Sure, the newer car will have an updated interior, but i don't see a huge difference between the two. The tt doesn't seem all that different than the cs. What are some of the main gripes between the interiors (please be specific)? Below are a few pics for reference.

996tt interior

997.1cs interior

Old 08-19-2012, 11:24 AM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,431 Likes on 827 Posts

997 interior materials are generally higher quality (that is non-leather to non-leather and leather vs. leather)
design is 100% better in my mind.

aside from that, there isn't a huge difference, aside from slightly better ergonomics.
Old 08-19-2012, 11:53 AM
sixtosune
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As Quadcammer said, there is a marked jump in both quality and ergonomics from the 996 to the 997 in terms of interior.

That said, IMHO, a decision between a 996TT and a 997.1S shouldn't be made based solely on their interiors, but on the different cars that they are, as a whole. A Porsche 911 Turbo has always been in a different league than a 911 or 911S in terms os performance, and even when compared to a newer 997.1S, the 996TT is still the higher performing machine out of the 2.

A decision between the 2 may also depend on what You plan to do with the car (long-term keeper, weekend fun ride, daily driver etc).

Last edited by sixtosune; 08-19-2012 at 07:52 PM.
Old 08-19-2012, 12:32 PM
Zeus993
Rennlist Member

Received 1,279 Likes on 591 Posts