Sponsored by:

Occasional clutch slippage

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2010, 08:23 PM
pauljosef
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Occasional clutch slippage

I first wrote this in response to a thread that talked about "bucking" but now realize it is a different issue. I am a complete rookie and just joined Rennlist. I t have a clutch issue which I don't understand. 2006 Carrera S (purchased certified pre-owned at 21k miles, now at 35k). About a month ago I accelerated from a standstill in Sport Mode and the clutch slipped(!) The engine RPM's raced ahead of my vehicle speed. I immediately stopped and took off again more slowly with no apparent problem except the unmistakable smell of burned clutch facing filling the cabin. I had no further problem and no apparent change in the "feel" of the clutch operation. Had 2 experienced Porsche technicians check it out and they say no problem. I put it off to the sport mode increased throttle response getting ahead of me. Now it has happened again. This time it felt like the clutch pedal just didn't come up all the way.
The clutch never slips under load in any gear. When I first bought the car, I thought the gearbox felt a little balky but was told this was typical of 911. I have driven a friend's 06 C4S and his shifted much more smoothly. The Boxster's I have driven are silky smooth. I am wondering if I have a problem in the hydraulics or the "throw-out bearing"(?) such that the clutch is not consistently and completely engaging and disengaging. Please share your experience and advice.
Old 09-06-2010, 08:27 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

Received 235 Likes on 128 Posts