Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Order VS On the lot

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009 | 10:16 PM
mass27
Burning Brakes

Default Order VS On the lot

This is not designed for people to defend why they make certain decisions, rather I'd like to explain my reasoning and to see if there is anyone else who agrees. Since I bought my first Porsche 2 years ago, I have read more posts on pricing and MSRP and discounts than I ever thought possible. Regardless of what ANYONE says on this forum, I don't believe that people are honest in this arena. Similar to going to Vegas or getting a raise, 80% of people will err on the side that makes them look good - it's human nature and no one here will convince me otherwise. So save the "go ahead and call Bob from Back Woods Porsche and he will swear I got that deal" quotes.

My first 997S was on the lot because I was an amateur to this car and did not know what I wanted and I wasn't even ready to purchase but since it was there, my CPA brain said to buy. My second 997.2S was ordered exactly with what I wanted and took countless hours of rehashing all the options to ensure I got every option I wanted and none I didn't. I only saved a few grand off MSRP. Now granted, this was back in July of last year so, very very VERY few people were discounting the 997.2, especially in CA. I will probably never buy a Porsche on the lot again as the joy of having somehting this unique is important to me.