Sponsored by:

Horsepower vs. Torque

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 11:32 PM
rfdjr58
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Horsepower vs. Torque

I've done some research here, and elsewhere on the Internet on the subject of horsepower and torque. Most of the reading is rather technical. Since I'm not an engineer, I wanted to ask this question from a layman's perspective. I'm curious what impact additional horsepower provides if there is not more torque.

The 997S compared to the GT3 seems like a good comparison for this purpose. The GT3 has significantly more horsepower but only slightly more torqure.

I notice that the 0-60 time is improved by about half a second, but I'm more interested in the driving experience -- i.e. what effect does the additonal horsepower provide.

I've owned a C5 Corvette Z06 which has more torque and horsepower than my 997S. It had about the same horsepower as the GT3, but also 400 lbs of torque. Maybe another question would be how the driving experience of the GT3 would compare to the Z06 which had more torque.

Sorry to ramble, but I would appreciate any (non-technical) observations.
Old 12-04-2006, 12:18 AM
nhs156
Intermediate

I was once told by someone speaking in VAST generalities:

HP = top speed
Torque = acceleration

I'm sure it's not that simple - in fact I know it's not (other factors obviously come into it, like weight etc. - lb/HP is a measure that many race car fans/drivers put a lot of stock into).
Old 12-04-2006, 12:43 AM
PAULSPEED
Pro

Hi,
Torque is really good for the drag strip.
Paul
Old 12-04-2006, 01:25 AM
krC2S
Racer

nhs is right

alot of torque means alot of initial acceleration(immediate) and possibly wheels spinning smoke etc
like vettes etc

since power=torque X rpm

to have good power with less torque you hae to have higher revs like
gt3 8400 rpm vs 7200 997s

i suspect the GT3 will not seem that much of a monster on inital acceleration compared to 997s