Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are you going to make me hack the CD player in the trunk?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2006, 10:51 PM
1080iAddict
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Are you going to make me hack the CD player in the trunk?

I mean honestly, a lawyer by trade, don't make me do this! I do admit "my dad has an awesome set of tools".

But I simply cannot believe that in this year 2006, nobody has found a way to hook an iPOD or Sat Radio feed into the MOST system without using the dreaded FM modulator. I have to believe that the CD player in the trunk, somewhere in between the laser that reads the disc and the MOST output, has an analog stage that can be tapped. There is NO analog pair anywhere?

What is up with Dension anyway? Is that project dead?

OK. Rant over. But I am getting very close to hack mode. And that is dangerous.
Old 01-19-2006, 11:24 PM
OCBen
Banned

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Yeah, having you go into hack mode, Adam, can be dangerous indeed! ...

I'm no electrical engineer but the output from the CD changer/reader gets fed into the pre-amp where it's conditioned tonally before being fed to the power amp, right? The output from the power amp driving the speakers is analog, right? And the input to the pre-amp is analog, right? So the CD reader that reads the digital signal off the CD and does multiple sampling to minimize reading error, doesn't it have a built-in integrator that converts the digital to analog, thus making the output of the CD reader an analog signal?

But you say there are no analog twisted pairs, right? ... Hmmmm.

Sounds like you could use some wiring diagrams...
Old 01-20-2006, 01:38 AM
littlebigfish
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by 1080iAddict
I mean honestly, a lawyer by trade, don't make me do this! I do admit "my dad has an awesome set of tools".