Sponsored by:

No-Prep Delivery

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2005, 06:56 PM
fuenfer
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default No-Prep Delivery

My 997S will be here this week, and I've asked that the dealership not wash/wax the car (in fact, I've asked them to leave on the plastic sheets). I decided that I needed to prep the car as I saw some of their new black 911s that already had some swirl marks. Anyway, I was hoping to get some advice from you guys regarding this issue -- I've been detailing cars for many years now, but this will be the first time taking delivery without prep. Will there be adhesive that I will need to remove? At this point, I was thinking of washing, claying, polishing & waxing (P21S) the car. Any steps that I'm missing here? Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 11-07-2005, 07:03 PM
JFScheck
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The dealer still needs to prep the car (initialize the stereo, check fluids, pressures, etc.)... I would ask them to be gentle and remove everything and just wash it.

I use P21S only, would use a cleaner polish before hand perhaps but you don't need the clay...
Old 11-07-2005, 08:07 PM
Larry Harris
Burning Brakes

I would urge you to clay the car. I remember how rough the paint was on my 997. Washing alone did not take the accumulated debris off the paint. The clay did! Easy to use and a sense of accomplishment when done. Then protect the near perfect paint with your favorite polish/sealer/wax.

Last edited by Larry Harris; 11-07-2005 at 08:09 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 11-07-2005, 08:57 PM
jjporsch43
Instructor

Have a Black 05' S. Had dealer wash of with hose and not do anything else. They complied. have seen a lot cars screwed up by "dealer detailers". Agree. Do it yourself.

John J in SA
Old 11-07-2005, 08:58 PM
Eric - Plug Guy
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 194 Likes on 108 Posts

Do NOT clay the car!

Do NOT allow them to clean the car!