Test drove my first 997S

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2004, 07:05 PM
qirex
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Test drove my first 997S

Heya guys.

I'm a newb to the forums but have been considering a 997S.
Well I got a test drive yesterday at Pioneer.

I went out with the sales guy. After watching him r/l the thing, i did the same and he asked me to stop at 6K.

First the good

Great looking car
nice interior, much better than the 996
Great exhaut sound
Good amount of power...engine makes more power the further up you rev (duh).

Now the bad (or not so good)

$92K as I want it.
Doesnt *LOOK* like $92K
Doesnt really *FEEL* like $92K
*only* 355 HP.
Interior doesnt really look all *that* great (it was a black on black - I'm thinking red/camel)

So there you have it.

Well, I must admit that after i got back in my Z and drove home, it felt DECIDELY slow. However, i guess i really wanted the 997S to really kick my ***. I'm torn - really. I guess I've gotten spoiled. I got my Z when it 1st bowed for $40K, the thing is that I know of several Zs with ~$7K invested in them that will absolutely clean the 997Ss clock. I know that its never fair to compare stock to modded, but i dunno - I guess that i still remember the days when porsche and ferrari were in competition. The 997 just seems like a VERY plain way to drop 90K. The car was great no doubt - but worth 3 Zs - hardly. Maybe its just the styling. I kinda think that both the Z and 997 share similar proportions - yet the Z winds up looking (dare i say it) better.

I guess what really left me pissed off was the fact that after beating the crap out of the car,listening to the salesguy tell me how he beat on this particular car (at the track even!!), and the car having 450 miles on it...the stealership insisted that they were selling the car as a *new* vehicle.

But i guess that someone will end up buying it...
Me, I'll be holding out for the AMV8 vantage i think.
Old 10-14-2004, 07:21 PM
frayed
Race Car