Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Header Upgrade Right Removed However .......

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2021, 07:12 PM
wndsnd
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts
Angry Header Upgrade Right Removed However .......

I was careful as hell but alas, I broke the two oposite end bolts. The good news is that they are both accessable the bad new is they are short.

What is the best way to extract or should I drill out and do timeserts. I am comfortable with either but I have never done timeserts over my head before. Only on the stand. I would prefer to extract.

The problem is getting anything on them to take a grip because they are so rusted. I have a drive on set that you smash onto and then wrench out, and I have a Headbolt extractor,that screws down and doesnt damage the stuc, but the bolt is so rusted nothing will screw on. I am thinking of grinding down and then drilling and using a point extractor. Any suggestions that will hopefully leave the head intact?

Old 02-14-2021, 08:35 PM
jlove
Intermediate

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

Before drilling anything I would try to remove them. You have a pretty good amount of bolt left to work with.
I would start by hitting them with some heat even a small butane torch is better than nothing. You don't need to get it red hot to take advantage of heat. I would then grab it with as big of vise grips as you can get on there clamped hard as you possibly can and slowly try to turn them out.

​​​​​If you have access to a welder you can weld a nut on there and use that to extract.

Last edited by jlove; 02-14-2021 at 08:37 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by jlove:
Petza914 (02-15-2021), Wolfk (02-15-2021)
Old 02-15-2021, 09:41 AM
Petza914
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 6,444 Likes on 4,106 Posts