Sponsored by:

Tiptronic love ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2020, 06:24 PM
anhoman
5th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Tiptronic love ?

In a million years I was never going to buy a Tip car or a Cabro. Yet here I am with both. I am old and learned to drive on a stick. In the 80s and early 90s I was a Porsche Tech and laughed at the thought of a non-manual trans. I am surprised how much I enjoy it though. Anybody else change their minds? I don't track the car just drive it for fun and to work occasionally. My next will be a PDK so looking for opinions on that. I tracked a GT3 with PDK and loved it.
The following 2 users liked this post by anhoman:
911URGE (10-22-2020), Doug H (10-23-2020)
Old 10-22-2020, 07:27 PM
wjk_glynn
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 510 Likes on 327 Posts

I also was a die-hard manual-transmission (MT) guy. My C2S w/PDK is the first non-stick sports car I've ever owned. If I was getting another Carrera, I certainly wouldn't turn down a MT. But if given a choice between MT and PDK, and all other things being equal... I think I'd pick the PDK.

As regards Tip vs. PDK...

Porsche has nearly always delivered a great product. And for its day, Tip was very good. However, technology does move on and by all accounts the 997 PDK is significantly better than the Tip. And the PDK in newer generation cars like the 991.x and 992 continues to further move the game on (you'd have experienced that when tracking the GT3 w/PDK).

But just because later technology improves performance does not take away from your experience with your car. It's not a zero-sum game. The fact that you (and many others) enjoy their Tip is proof of that.

Karl.
The following users liked this post:
Doug H (10-23-2020)
Old 10-22-2020, 09:24 PM
fpajonk
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts