HPDE and stock brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2019, 10:05 AM
Miamirice
Racer

Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Default HPDE and stock brakes

Hello,
2005 c2S is new to me. I have many years of track experience and racing. My intent with the C2S is a street car that I can OCCASIONALLY drive to bucket list tracks and do a DE on street tires rather than trailer my race car to it.

Question: Do the OE brake pads and Fluid do a good job for this? I would rather not go down the road of getting spares for this as it will be 1-2 times a year. If I need to swap pads then so be it but I have coached a number of students with cars like AMG MB or Corvettes that did DE’s on stock set ups and the pads remained meaty all day.
Old 09-10-2019, 10:14 AM
ColoradoMark
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

The stock Textars are “OK” on the track, they will fade if you are pushing hard. You need to change the fluid occasionally anyways, so I would probably go with something better than stock, like Motul. Have fun, what tracks do you want to run on?
Old 09-10-2019, 10:42 AM
Miamirice
Racer

Originally Posted by ColoradoMark
The stock Textars are “OK” on the track, they will fade if you are pushing hard. You need to change the fluid occasionally anyways, so I would probably go with something better than stock, like Motul. Have fun, what tracks do you want to run on?
I have a case of Motul 660 so no worries to flush the fluid. All the pads I use for racing are corrosive and brutal on rotors (hawk blue, carbotech xp12) so I would rather finds a compromise pad if I am going to buy another pad. Something I can drive to the track with and not so hard on rotors. I will be on street tires and will of course push a little but not like I am trying to run personal best laps on timer. Any suggestions for a compromise pad?

Tracks: Barber, VIR, Watkins Glen, Road America, COTA, Mid-Ohio

Anything farther from MIami I will just rent track side.
Old 09-10-2019, 10:50 AM
ejabour