Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PDK "reboot"

 
Old 05-04-2019, 02:30 PM
  #1  
voiceprint1
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 561
Default PDK "reboot"

I saw this post about the PDK "reboot" to sort of clear out the memory or settings that PDK stores, and I have to say it transformed my car completely, it got rid of every little low speed thing it used to do! it drives completely smoothly, and took away all the odd noises and jerky stuff, power delivery seemed smoother and shifts seems much less abrupt. Hopefully this works for others, I had alway heard the early cars were a bit stiffer on shifts, but this procedure seemed to smooth out everything.


voiceprint1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 04:35 PM
  #2  
mike cap
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mike cap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,171
Default

Interesting. Where did this originate?
mike cap is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 06:23 PM
  #3  
voiceprint1
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 561
Default

it's from the panamera forum on here, but seems like it works for any PDK car, and it's free to try.
voiceprint1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 06:47 PM
  #4  
mike cap
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mike cap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,171
Default

Thanks
mike cap is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 08:34 PM
  #5  
Wayne Smith
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Wayne Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,441
Default

Great information. Thanks for the share!!!
Wayne Smith is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 03:04 AM
  #6  
vg247
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 435
Default

Wow this is great info. While I’m not having any issues with the PDK in my 09’ tempted to try and see if there’s any improvement ..
vg247 is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 03:20 AM
  #7  
ADias
Super User
 
ADias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NorCal
Posts: 7,345
Default

The PDK controller is adaptive. If the procedure above resets it to some defined state it will change its current learned maps, which represent the car driver's driving style. Thus the question is, why do this? Is there something wrong in the learning mode? If not, and the controller is reset, the controller will no longer be aligned with the driver's driving style and it will have to relearn again to go back to the same controller state prior to reset...

Caveat emptor!
ADias is online now  
Old 05-05-2019, 10:08 AM
  #8  
holgum
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
holgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 154
Default

I have trouble believing this really does anything. Seems like a sequence of events that wouldn’t be that unusual to replicate in the normal course of daily driving. Anyone else tried and feel it really works?
i may give it a go just for kicks when I have time since I recently acquired my car, so it didn’t learn from my driving anyway, at least originally. I always assumed that over time PDK would continue to adapt to most recent driving style. Not to mention that I drive in manual mode most of the time...
holgum is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 11:09 AM
  #9  
Bruce In Philly
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bruce In Philly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 3,324
Default

2009 C2S 133K MT

There is a trick to reset your throttle body by turning you key on and off and holding up your right arm. So it is already established that Porsche has these resetting tricks... I did the throttle body reset. What did that do for me? Nothing. Overall, I doubt resetting this kind of stuff would hurt anything, so why not try it? It has some entertainment value at a minimum. I could see resetting this before tracking your car or leaving the track. Is this a big deal? Doubt it.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Bruce In Philly is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 02:12 PM
  #10  
JustinCase
User
 
JustinCase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 245
Default

Originally Posted by Bruce In Philly View Post
2009 C2S 133K MT

There is a trick to reset your throttle body by turning you key on and off and holding up your right arm. So it is already established that Porsche has these resetting tricks.
Your post made me laugh out loud. I installed a Cayenne Sirius module in my PCM 2.1 MOST loop several years ago, which works great. However, every now and then it freezes up on ignition, blanks out the data portion of the screen, and won't let you change the channel. The solution is a cold boot by first turning off the PCM, then turning off the ignition and removing the key. Next, you have to hold the key at arm's length as far away from the ignition switch as possible (I use my left arm with the door open) for a few seconds before restarting the car. I think the PCM won't do a full cold boot unless the key RFID is actually out of range. This procedure works every time. My wife always looks at me funny when I kill the car right after starting it and fling my left arm out the door. Generally, if I switch off the PCM every single time I turn off and leave the car, it will cold boot next time it is switched on and won't have this problem.
JustinCase is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:54 PM
  #11  
ADias
Super User
 
ADias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NorCal
Posts: 7,345
Default

Originally Posted by Bruce In Philly View Post
2009 C2S 133K MT

There is a trick to reset your throttle body by turning you key on and off and holding up your right arm. So it is already established that Porsche has these resetting tricks... I did the throttle body reset. What did that do for me? Nothing. Overall, I doubt resetting this kind of stuff would hurt anything, so why not try it? It has some entertainment value at a minimum. I could see resetting this before tracking your car or leaving the track. Is this a big deal? Doubt it.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
The ECU reset does reset the throttle body actuation. That makes sense as it corrects for mechanical wear.
ADias is online now  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: