Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Radio - Repair or Replace

 
Old 04-02-2019, 03:24 PM
  #1  
swftiii
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
swftiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Parkland, FL
Posts: 1,952
Default Radio - Repair or Replace

Opening topic for 2019 discussion. Car is 2009 CarreraS with Bose and the PCM 3.0 is starting to having some issues...rebooting periodically. So, I see 2 options:

1. Repair the head unit to the tune of about $1k (still don't have Pandora streaming, apple play, backup camera, etc.)
2. Replace headunit using Nav-TV integration for a little more in total all in cost (gets newest technology, backup camera, etc.)

Let the opinions get started. Would love to hear thoughts and experiences by those that have done option 2 with keeping the Bose amp and speakers and if there was any change in sound quality.

Thanks,
-Skip
swftiii is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 06:46 PM
  #2  
vern1
Super User
 
vern1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,934
Default

Skip, there are at least 2-3 very recent threads on this with multi page entries. I think anyone who has an opinion on this topic has prob made it known there. Might want to check those out

Cheers
vern1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 07:08 PM
  #3  
Bruce In Philly
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bruce In Philly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 3,272
Default

2009 C2S 133K miles

If you change the head unit, assuming you have the Bose premium, you need to replace the amplifier (located under the passenger seat). All speaker cabling for this 5.1 DVDA system terminates under the passenger seat at a processor/amplifier. It speaks a proprietary protocol to the head unit.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Bruce In Philly is online now  
Old 04-02-2019, 08:26 PM
  #4  
caitov
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
caitov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 107
Default

Yep, lots of threads already on this.
But you forgot option #3
https://www.suncoastparts.com/produc...367100A05.html

caitov is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 10:11 PM
  #5  
dmpslc
User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 26
Default

The PO of the car I purchased recently spent about 2k on a headunit, amplifier, and installation to remove the Bose system.
He did NOT have the subwoofer connected to the system and while it doesn't sound terrible it definitely sounds pretty hollow.
The sub has it's own amp and all it needs is signal from the headunit to turn on - this is a relatively easy thing to splice into the harness and I'll be taking care of that shortly.

I think this is a pretty good route to go...
dmpslc is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 10:29 PM
  #6  
wc11
Super User
 
wc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,084
Default

Originally Posted by Bruce In Philly View Post
2009 C2S 133K miles

If you change the head unit, assuming you have the Bose premium, you need to replace the amplifier (located under the passenger seat). All speaker cabling for this 5.1 DVDA system terminates under the passenger seat at a processor/amplifier. It speaks a proprietary protocol to the head unit.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Not anymore. You can keep the oem amp with fibre optic interface and just change the head unit.
http://www.connects2.com/home/index

http://www.connects2.com/Product/ProductItem/CT51-PO04
wc11 is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 10:49 PM
  #7  
okbarnett
Super User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: tampa
Posts: 2,195
Default

theres a shop that repairs. I think ' midwest 'something or buy one on ebay
okbarnett is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 08:27 AM
  #8  
Petza914
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Petza914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 10,589
Default

Becker audio repairs them I think for about $500, but thought they were in NJ.
Petza914 is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 10:42 AM
  #9  
JABowders
User
 
JABowders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 109
Default

I had just reopened a thread just Monday about the issues I'm having with my 2005 Carrera with Bose and the is updated to PCM 3.0 ...rebooting. Shortly after getting the car a couple years ago I added the Navigation and the LA MOD for the phone Blu-Tooth function and it worked fine for about 6 months then the NAVigation started to drop in and out, so I updated the PCM from 1.0 to 3.0 along with the Maps Set, and it appeared to work fine, then the NAV started to act up again. The Sunday the Head unit it started to reboot... no control function from the unit buttons. So I'm looking into the options as well ... wanting to feel out the community for thoughts and ideas. From what I have gathered no matter what the car will end up at the dealer to reset the PIWIS coding.

As much as I hate the idea, I guess I'm just getting myself psyched up for a $5K repair bill because no matter what I do the dealer will claim they had to replace the entire system because ... "PIWIS coding reasons".
JABowders is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 11:40 AM
  #10  
Petza914
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Petza914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 10,589
Default

Originally Posted by JABowders View Post
I had just reopened a thread just Monday about the issues I'm having with my 2005 Carrera with Bose and the is updated to PCM 3.0 ...rebooting. Shortly after getting the car a couple years ago I added the Navigation and the LA MOD for the phone Blu-Tooth function and it worked fine for about 6 months then the NAVigation started to drop in and out, so I updated the PCM from 1.0 to 3.0 along with the Maps Set, and it appeared to work fine, then the NAV started to act up again. The Sunday the Head unit it started to reboot... no control function from the unit buttons. So I'm looking into the options as well ... wanting to feel out the community for thoughts and ideas. From what I have gathered no matter what the car will end up at the dealer to reset the PIWIS coding.

As much as I hate the idea, I guess I'm just getting myself psyched up for a $5K repair bill because no matter what I do the dealer will claim they had to replace the entire system because ... "PIWIS coding reasons".
My Cayenne PCM 3.0 recently started rebooting every 3-5 minutes, but would only do it if the bluetooth connectivity function was enabled on the PCM. If I turned off that option, it wouldn't reboot at all. Doing some online research of this problem, revealed that updating the software should resolve it and it is caused by the Satellite Radio providers making updates to their system, even though I'm not a satellite radio subscriber. The PCM update solved my issue and now with bluetooth enabled, it no longer reboots.

Do a test to see if your issue is the same. Go into the phone tab, then options, bluetooth, and turn off the bluetooth function. Drive the car a day or 2 if the problem had been very repeatable and if so, see if it no longer happens. Then reenable the BT function and see if if starts doing it again. If so, tell the dealer you only want them to update the PCM software. If you're on the current version, ask them to delete it and reload it. They charged me 30 minutes labor to do this, which was much cheaper than any PCM replacement option.

Good luck.
Petza914 is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 11:41 AM
  #11  
vern1
Super User
 
vern1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,934
Default

Originally Posted by JABowders View Post
I had just reopened a thread just Monday about the issues I'm having with my 2005 Carrera with Bose and the is updated to PCM 3.0 ...rebooting. Shortly after getting the car a couple years ago I added the Navigation and the LA MOD for the phone Blu-Tooth function and it worked fine for about 6 months then the NAVigation started to drop in and out, so I updated the PCM from 1.0 to 3.0 along with the Maps Set, and it appeared to work fine, then the NAV started to act up again. The Sunday the Head unit it started to reboot... no control function from the unit buttons. So I'm looking into the options as well ... wanting to feel out the community for thoughts and ideas. From what I have gathered no matter what the car will end up at the dealer to reset the PIWIS coding.

As much as I hate the idea, I guess I'm just getting myself psyched up for a $5K repair bill because no matter what I do the dealer will claim they had to replace the entire system because ... "PIWIS coding reasons".
And yes i responded to that thread as well. Did you check out the other threads with +20 pgs on this very topic? What questions do you still have?

I dont know about the 3.0 but in replacing my 2.1 there was no dealer coding reqd
vern1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 12:36 PM
  #12  
swftiii
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
swftiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Parkland, FL
Posts: 1,952
Default

Thanks Petza - I'll give that a try.
swftiii is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 01:10 PM
  #13  
JABowders
User
 
JABowders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 109
Default

Yes, I have reached out and read the other threads that I could find and chased what seemed like a limitless number of links reaching out to optional units, service locations, etc. The coding has to do with the hardware: for example:
PCM Codes:
SW version 3.0
PCM: 05024AD1 / 0205 ==> Model Level B
System Software: 04514BD1 / 5104
Amplifier: 00017500 / 3504
> Not Expected BUT Found = NAV System: 00179436 / 3306
CD Changer: C38 / 3003
> Not Expected BUT Found = Phone: C32 / 2702

The PIWIS coding would reset the system to Expect the NAV and Phone.

As for disabling the Blu-Tooth, the controls on the Head Unit are unresponsive and since the system does not boot completely I can not interact with the system. I do plan on pulling the unit this weekend and re-seating all the connectors and inspecting the cabling both electrical and optic.

I have the two firmware updates so I could also try doing a reversion back to 2.1 and see if that helps, but without a PCM that boots into an operational state this might be a pipe dream.

But will keep this updated as to what I find

Last edited by JABowders; 04-15-2019 at 03:02 PM.
JABowders is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 03:30 PM
  #14  
ElectricChair
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ElectricChair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,597
Default

Originally Posted by caitov View Post
Yep, lots of threads already on this.
But you forgot option #3
https://www.suncoastparts.com/produc...367100A05.html

I really like this idea. After installing gundo hack and x-pipes on my 997 I never turn on the radio anyway.

ElectricChair is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 03:51 PM
  #15  
Skwerl
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,770
Default

Yeah, that replacement cubby is really cool and I didn't know it existed. I always wish there were a way to get rid of the center stack altogether, and move the climate controls up to the dash like in the air-cooled cars.
Skwerl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: