Sponsored by:

Opinions on Upsolute chip

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2003, 03:20 PM
dmilzoff
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Default Opinions on Upsolute chip

I have a stock 2003 996TT with 5000 miles and I have a need to do an upgrade. I'm cheap but I'm not dumb.
The Upsolute from a local dealer is $ 600.00 installed. He has a $ 150.00 remote switch option which will permit me to switch back and forth to stock programming. He can do the complete job in 2 -4 hours while I wait (and watch!), which I like.
Why is this chip so much less than the others? He does not dyno the car but claims the same 100 HP or so gain as the other chips. Is there a difference in quality or function?
Is the switching option wise to use when I service the car or will they know the car is chipped anyway?
Any personal experience/opinions on the Upsolute chip?
Old 08-29-2003, 05:34 PM
LSM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I wanted to preface my statement by sayiung I have no personal experience with this chip. I will give my opinion. I have heard from a number of sources that the chip is junk and does not make anywhere near that hp. I was also told from a reliable tuner that shall remain nameless, " I would never put that chip on a car I owned" It really comes down to, you get what you pay for. If it was that easy and that inexpensive, why would all the reputable companies charge 6x as much. We are not talking a couple hundred here or there. The price differnce is in the thousands like two thousand nine hundred dollar diffrence. I know where you are coming from and I wish I could help you more. Check out this website, 996tt owners on this board seem to have more experience---MODERATORS I HOPE THIS IS OK?" www.funcarsonline.com

-Lou
Old 08-29-2003, 06:13 PM
racer63
Racer

I looked at the Upsolute before going with EVO (GIAC). I decided on EVO because:

1. I can upgrade in stages (I started with stage 1 and am now at 4gt) and receive credit for amounts paid previously.