Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A little help with a P0507 please

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2014, 02:06 AM
FrannyB
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A little help with a P0507 please: 32 Idle air control at stop - above limit

Hi All,

I am new to the 996TT world with a very stock '04 X50 cab with about 48Kmiles. We bought the car about a month ago from a private seller who always had the car serviced at a local dealership. I have quite a bit of history on the car and this P0507 code seems to pop up a bit. Previously, the dealer did a software upgrade to solve the problem. Other than that, they couldn't find anything wrong according to the work order. Since we have owned the car we have run a few tanks of gas through and have had the CEL rear its ugly head twice so far. The PO mention that he would get it occasionally, but he would fill it up with gas and it would go away. The first time it happened I took the car to the local FLAPS and had them read and then clear the code. I thought it might be related to a dirty air cleaner so I did a full oil change, fuel filter and new air cleaner. When removing the air box, I found the the large clamp was completely loose and just dangling. I figured that might be the cause as it is after the sensor. Well, it threw a code again yesterday so I decided to take out the intake plenum and perform a pressure test. Below is a photo of my very simple setup... I set the compressor to the lowest setting (pretty much zero psi) and just added enough air to get about 15psi with the larger black tube plugged with my thumb. ...and nothing... I even turned off the noisy shop lights and put the clock in the other room. I held the pressure for about five minutes and let it go and it rushed right out. So, I'm thinking I don't have anything amiss with the vacuum lines.