Sponsored by:

Any tips for removing leaves from front vents

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2013, 08:23 PM
cdmdriver
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Any tips for removing leaves from front vents

I have had a 993 for many years but I am new to the 996tt world.
With Fall here I am finding a bunch of leaves accumulating in the front air vents up against the radiators. Those vents are like leaf catchers. My neighbors should pay me to run around our streets and clean up the leaves.
Anyway, does anyone have any tips for cleaning these out?
What happens if leaves (trash, etc..) accumulate in the side vents? Can this area be inspected and cleaned out if necessary?

Happy Halloween to all.

Old 10-31-2013, 08:28 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,388 Likes on 2,509 Posts

Leaf blower. When it gets really bad, bumper removal is required. Pretty easy job.
Old 10-31-2013, 09:32 PM
Kevin
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 305 Likes on 211 Posts

Pull the bumper cover off.. That's the only method that allow you to get the garbage between the radiator and a/c condenser. One can use a blower after one has done the FULL treatment (months down the road)
Old 10-31-2013, 10:53 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

You've already gotten the scoop on the radiators.

The side vents, the intercooler air intakes generally do not collect much if any trash. They are located at a fairly clean spot in the air flow along side the car. And they have no fan pulling air in (unlike the radiator ducts) so only air gets pulled in by the car's aerodynamics.
Old 10-31-2013, 11:24 PM
tomofva
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The bumper comes of easy
Old 11-02-2013, 02:24 PM
Richard.
Rennlist Member

Received 185 Likes on 124 Posts

Get a techart bumper and then just stick your arm in ....
Old 11-02-2013, 02:29 PM
zblake
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Richard.
Get a techart bumper and then just stick your arm in ....