Short shifter - pros and cons

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2011, 12:52 AM
Guybrush Wilkinson
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Short shifter - pros and cons

Short shifter on TT - like it or not?

I really like the tight feeling and short movement that short shifter provides. However, some careafullness when shifting seems to be required. For example, quick shifting from second to third gear when accelerating fast easily results missing gear. You just cant make a strong push forward and expect the gear to engage. There is a slight movement to right that needs to be done before pushing the 3rd gear in.

At first this seemed odd to me. Then I thought about Ferraris. They have a H -shaped metal plate where the stick goes through the "floor" of the car.

I have no experience of a TT without a short shifter mod. How does a short shifter work when compared to stock?

Old 08-12-2011, 11:22 AM
Dock
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 775 Likes on 550 Posts

Which short shifter do you have in your Turbo?

You are correct about the 2-3 shift; trying to move the shifter in a straight line diagonally from 2nd to 3rd is asking for trouble.

I have the B&M shifter in my Turbo, and when I want to make a fast 2-3 shift my personal technique is to push the shifter with the palm of my hand, without actually gripping it (my fingers not wrapped around the shifter). This allows the shifter to "automatically" move to the right using the "spring" mechanism sitting in neutral that is designed to move the shifter directly under the 3rd gear gate. Once the shifter has been moved to the right, it's just a straight push forward into 3rd gear (it's a "push...push" process). With the B&M it is fast and accurate.
Old 08-12-2011, 01:06 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Search the forum.
The most popular and often discussed are the OEM 997 shifters...stock, GT3 and short shift.