Sponsored by:

winter storage

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 01:55 PM
Fastboy
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default winter storage

I'm going to be storing my beast in about 1 month. I have 2 questions- as this is my first time:
1. the storage guy I am going to has 2 storage surface otions- one is limestone, the other is cement. Both are enclosed, but not heated. Which is better (he says everyone diagrees on this point- so he offers both)
2. What tire pressure do you pump the tires to when leaving the car for 6 months to minimize the flat-spot in the spring?
Old 10-12-2010, 01:59 PM
No HTwo O
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by Fastboy
I'm going to be storing my beast in about 1 month. I have 2 questions- as this is my first time:
1. the storage guy I am going to has 2 storage surface otions- one is limestone, the other is cement. Both are enclosed, but not heated. Which is better (he says everyone diagrees on this point- so he offers both)
2. What tire pressure do you pump the tires to when leaving the car for 6 months to minimize the flat-spot in the spring?
Park on plastic sheeting. Overfill tires to 58-60 PSI.
Old 10-12-2010, 02:07 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Suggested reading....

http://www.porschenet.com/JCMS/content/view/85/5/

Porsche Winter Storage
Written by Brita Outzen
For some of us the onset of winter brings that emotion laden task of storing the Porsche for the winter. This is a somber event. It is best done alone so one may share those last moments with the Porsche without distraction. And, this way if one gets too emotional about it the family and friends won't be there to witness it and become convinced you really have lost it.