Sponsored by:

Fault code/Evo problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2005, 09:02 PM
stingray
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fault code/Evo problem

I had the EVO V-Flow Induction System installed about a month ago and I've had nothing but problems. The first problem was due to a manufacturing error. That problem was addressed and the PSM and ABS problem went away, but the CEL problem stayed. The MAF was replaced and the CEL still comes on. It tends to light up when the engine is cold and I'm just starting out. My mechanic gets a code of P1109. He can only get a vauge explanation of that code, I'm hoping someone here has some details on it. The engine is running rich and has a slight miss when you try and hold a steady RPM. The 30,000 check up is due in a couple of thousand miles, so we decided to change the plugs early and see what happened. The plugs were sooty, as are the 02 sensors - no surprise as it is running rich. The new plugs have made a difference, but I tend to think there is still an underlying problem. My mechanic says the MAF is trying to lean out the engine, but it isn't working. Aanyone with any thoughts? thanks
Old 07-11-2005, 09:51 PM
RT7
Burning Brakes

Could it be too much oil used in the K&N filter type? Normally, it's the MAF & plugs.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:02 PM
1999Porsche911
Race Car

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Get yourself a good scanner and SEE what the sensors are doing. No sense in guessing. The reading of the MAF, Fuel Trim and O2 sensors will provide alot of help in finding out what is wrong.

Also of note: The MAF does not try to make the engine rich or lean. It is the first line of direction on air flow and temps provided to the computer. The O2 sensors will adjust if it is determined the engine is rich or lean.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:29 PM
stingray
Advanced

The oil in the filter has been addressed and the fuel trims were -15
Old 07-11-2005, 10:47 PM
1999Porsche911
Race Car

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts