***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp*** - Page 3 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums



996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp***

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2016, 01:28 PM   #31
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 152
Default

Ok, took 3 weeks to get my RCA to MOST converter from AliExpress, I picked up a harness from CAI and will be doing a install soon with a single DIN install with a Alpine BT149 unit. I have this same unit in my 4X4 diesel and also the Harley Davidson, it is a great unit and hopefully the converter does the same. I will try to detail the install with pictures and post.
JohnCA58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 08:26 PM   #32
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 152
Default

Well, finally got my Alpine BT149 head unit, and kept the fiber optic amp, I use the RCA converter and pick up a harness from CAI so that I wouldn't cut into the Porsche harness at all, worse part of the job is hooking the acc. wire to the ignition to retain the radio stays on till key is remove, everything else was plug and play, even the fiber optic connection plugged right into the converter. it sounds even better now, and now have my Pandora back, along with blue tooth for phone calls. This is on a 2004 996 C2, they told me at CAI that it wouldn't work, so I ask if they had tried one ? he said no, but the website says its for 2005-08 P-car with MOST system, now we know it works on the 03 and the 04 996.
JohnCA58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 11:00 AM   #33
Big Paupie
User
 
Big Paupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 23
Default

My unit just arrived yesterday. What do you connect the B+ (yellow) wire to?
Big Paupie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 12:12 PM   #34
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 152
Default

If your talking about the ACC wire, it goes to the orange wire on the ignition switch, be sure to add a fuse holder with a 5 amp fuse to it close to the ignition switch, this will allow the head unit to stay on till key is removed. If your talking about the Alpine head unit power wire (yellow) there is a live 12 volt wire at the radio connection, I didn't pay attention to that because I used CAI harness plug and play harness they make, bought the kit for 45 dollars which included the antenna adapter also. plus no cutting into the P-car harness.

https://cai-store.com/collections/al...ant=3737574725
JohnCA58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 03:00 PM   #35
Big Paupie
User
 
Big Paupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 23
Default

I am talking about the B+ wire on the MOST converter. The CAI kit I ordered came with an accessory wire with fuse for the head unit to connect to the ignition switch but my question concerns the MOST unit. I currently have a tranzit blue hooked up to the phone/aux power on the lower stack and I was going to remove and tap in there but the yellow wire was an unexpected extra.
Big Paupie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 04:45 PM   #36
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 152
Default

I piggyback all 3 wires, ground, power, and acc wires right to the 3 wires between the harness from CAI connector to the Alpine harness connector.

Also remember when you first hook everything up and ready to turn on, set to ignition and then turn it off again for minute and half and then the converter is set to work.
JohnCA58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 12:23 PM   #37
Big Paupie
User
 
Big Paupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 23
Default

Most converter works like a champ. Been listening to music direct from my iPhone all week. Tomorrow I am going to complete the head until install and time permitting iPad mini install.
Big Paupie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 01:47 PM   #38
sheatley
User
 
sheatley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hangtown, Ca
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbojamie View Post
Got my double din installed through this most converter box so far so good. So simple only 3 wires to hook up!
Which double din unit did you go with? Thank you for starting this post.
sheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 10:12 PM   #39
Slopeslider
User
 
Slopeslider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbojamie View Post
Gentlemen years have gone by with NO solution to installing an aftermarket head unit into an 03+ Porsche without the need to remove the factory amp and add all kinds of aftermarket wiring, etc to make it work. Well NO MORE!!! I took a stab at trying this RCA to MOST fiber optic converter and it WORKS. Now you can install an aftermarket head unit into an 03+ 996 and retain the stock amp.

This is HUGE IMO and no one has done it that I know of so far.

I will edit this post as I am going to now remove the ipad and install a double din head unit for testing, as well as provide the link gto purchase the box. It was $127.00 Canadian shipped to me and I had it in 3 days from Hong Kong. I did pay an additional $20 customs.



Porsche 996 rca to most fiber optic converter - YouTube

Very cool! Do you still get the RDS display (name of song) in the gauge cluster? How's the functionality running off an iPad Mini? Can you still hook-up the TranzitBlu for phone calls?
Slopeslider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 11:21 PM   #40
texcwa
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
texcwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Jackson, CA
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCA58 View Post
Well, finally got my Alpine BT149 head unit, and kept the fiber optic amp, I use the RCA converter and pick up a harness from CAI so that I wouldn't cut into the Porsche harness at all, worse part of the job is hooking the acc. wire to the ignition to retain the radio stays on till key is remove, everything else was plug and play, even the fiber optic connection plugged right into the converter. it sounds even better now, and now have my Pandora back, along with blue tooth for phone calls. This is on a 2004 996 C2, they told me at CAI that it wouldn't work, so I ask if they had tried one ? he said no, but the website says its for 2005-08 P-car with MOST system, now we know it works on the 03 and the 04 996.
Did you loose your fade or right/left speaker functions? Read on other threads that you do?
texcwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 03:23 AM   #41
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 152
Default

Yes, you do lose the fade, it is only thing you lose, the quality of my sounds are so much better, even bass sounds great. that deck has made a difference on all my vehicle's. I never played with the fade before on either of the other head units, you do have the side to side adjustments.
JohnCA58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 10:17 AM   #42
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheatley View Post
Which double din unit did you go with? Thank you for starting this post.
I just used a repetitively inexpensive Kenwood deck without navigation in it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slopeslider View Post
Very cool! Do you still get the RDS display (name of song) in the gauge cluster? How's the functionality running off an iPad Mini? Can you still hook-up the TranzitBlu for phone calls?
You loose RDS I don't think there is a way to add that back that I am aware of. Of course I am also not an electronics engineer so anything is possible.

As far as using an Ipad mini you can get the headphone jack to RCA and plug directly into the Optical converter.

Without a head unit going ipad mini only I don't know if there is a way to hookup the tranzit blu hf. Does it support audio pass through ?

One of the things I disliked about running my system off the ipad mini only was the loss of radio.

Looking at the tranzit blu hf manual I suppose you could use the 3.5mm out and then convert to RCA to drive the optical converter. Then connect to the unit with either a phone or use the ipad as bluetooth connection. I don't think it supports 2 bluetooth connections at the same time though so you would be stuck with either the phone or the ipad. To run them both at the same time maybe an RCA switch to swap sources on the fly but it seems overly complicated.

Why not use the ipad with a really inexpensive single din bluetooth head unit. One which would allow the ipad to be connected via aux input, this would also get your radio back AND allow for BT phone connectivity which would override the aux ipad input in the event of a call.
Turbojamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 02:46 PM   #43
MD996TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Is there a make and model of this converter? the Aliexpress link is dead.
MD996TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 03:51 PM   #44
MD996TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Autoaux.com has the newest link.
MD996TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 09:48 PM   #45
Slopeslider
User
 
Slopeslider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 517
Default

Took the plunge and ordered tonight. My CDR23 is DOA. Thinking about not using a head unit and just run off my iPad mini if I can figure out how to hook up my Tranzit BT unit for hands free. How is the volume when running your iPad without a HU?
Slopeslider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple BOSE + MOST (fiber optic) Audio upgrade, who did it ? philooo 996 Forum 12 04-19-2017 04:36 PM
Need help with wiring Autoleads harness for 03+ MOST bypass vogz 996 Forum 0 06-13-2016 05:04 PM
Fiber Optic Return Line question **9" head unit install pics** Rampino Porsche Cayenne Forum 15 12-02-2015 09:45 AM
2000 996 Stereo Upgrade Questions JonathanEngr 996 Forum 12 09-24-2014 10:35 AM
Dension install in 996 Turbo with CDR23 (complete step-by-step with pics) LVDell 996 Forum 36 05-22-2012 12:30 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send