***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp*** - Page 2 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 996 Forum
Reload this Page > ***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp***
Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by: LN Engineering
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp***

Reply

Old 09-17-2016, 10:11 PM
  #16
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

Originally Posted by thebowl View Post
Alpine makes a unit that fits with no mods required.
So no power wires, RCA, Trigger, Ground, and speaker connections? How is this done got a link?


Got to drive about an hour last night with the box just hooked to my ipad while I wait for my double din stuff to show up. The sound quality is a heck of a lot better than the ipad over tranzit blu hf FM module. There is an improvement here for sure. I see no potential issues with the double din and rca to fiber box integration.

Found this while searching. Guess mine was a heck of a deal. https://avinusa.com/most-fiber-optic...e-cayenne.html
Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:04 PM
  #17
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

Got my double din installed through this most converter box so far so good. So simple only 3 wires to hook up!
Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 02:47 AM
  #18
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 207
Default

The worst part is shipping time on the convertor.
JohnCA58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 11:08 AM
  #19
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

I had mine in 3 days.
Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 03:17 PM
  #20
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 207
Default

Did you get it thru Aliexpress ?
JohnCA58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 03:32 PM
  #21
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 207
Default

Did you get it thru Aliexpress ?
JohnCA58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 03:53 PM
  #22
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

Originally Posted by JohnCA58 View Post
Did you get it thru Aliexpress ?
Yes.
Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 11:19 PM
  #23
ilikebigbumpers
User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 52
Default

Originally Posted by Turbojamie View Post
I'll post the link tomorrow from my laptop to the device it's so simple now to swap a deck!

Here is the other thread with the link to the box I have.

https://rennlist.com/forums/996-forum/949822-03-carrera-4-s-radio-upgrade-2.html
link please?

do you need any additional adapter? does the factory fiber optics cable directly plug into the unit?
ilikebigbumpers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 11:21 AM
  #24
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 04:16 PM
  #25
Ken Allwine
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 39
Default

I'll be needing to get one of these!!
Ken Allwine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 06:03 PM
  #26
Daniel Kant
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 56
Default

Ordered for my 2003 4S, thanks for the tip!

Last edited by Daniel Kant; 10-12-2016 at 06:04 PM. Reason: edit
Daniel Kant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 12:47 AM
  #27
suprmedic
User
 
suprmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Highland, CA
Posts: 67
Default

This is awesome. I put a double DIN with GPS/ Apple Car Play, rear view camera in mine a few months ago and could not be happier. I wanted GPS, rear view camera etc though.
suprmedic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 05:30 AM
  #28
JohnCA58
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 207
Default

I see the prices have gone up 11.00 yesterday and shipping has gone up too. they must have got a spikes in orders.
JohnCA58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:34 AM
  #29
Big Paupie
User
 
Big Paupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 26
Default

Ordered mine last week. It looks like it might be a couple more weeks until it arrives. It is still in China awaiting international shipment. I am very anxious to get it installed though.
Big Paupie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 01:31 PM
  #30
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 595
Default

Originally Posted by Big Paupie View Post
Ordered mine last week. It looks like it might be a couple more weeks until it arrives. It is still in China awaiting international shipment. I am very anxious to get it installed though.
Wonder what the jerk around is for some guys. I had mine in 3 days.
Turbojamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
boingolover
996 Forum
13
11-14-2017 12:42 PM
storch
997 Forum
1
07-11-2017 10:08 PM
philooo
996 Forum
12
04-19-2017 05:36 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: