Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

996 3.4 Head Installed..Need clarification on cam timing...

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2014 | 12:36 AM
RPMtech147
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 996 3.4 Head Installed..Need clarification on cam timing...

Hey Folks, I'm sure Ill be here often...I'm a tech at Highline/Exotic shop here in houston...My background is Audi, Lamborghini, Ferrari/Maser., BMW, MB, and now with my new shop....Porsche!

This is my first head-off for any porsche new or old and I'm running into an issue with the cam timing...

2001 996 3.4 5 Chain

I have the factory paper manual in PDF and all of the special alignment tools but here's where I'm running into an issue.

I can't find any clear indication of where it want's the crank in relation to the number 1 or number 4 hole when hanging the chain for the 4-6 head.

If you read the OE manual line by line, it says to rotate the crank 360 before installing the 4-6 head. Now if you started with the 1-3 head first, as the manual would have you do, then do your 360 that would put your number 4 hole at TDC compression and number 1 at TDC exhaust.

That's all fine and good, valve cover and chain installed, rotating the motor over by hand is gravy, Im even making compression....Well, 30psi is all i can get cranking it by hand....but the 'final alignment tool' will not install on the 4-6 head when the crank is at #4 TDC Compression. Now if I flip the motor to TDC on #1, it fits just fine but then my guidelines (Reluctor notch in relation to motor) for for cam position are out 180degrees according to the manual.

I've read the manual over and over and over, then hit pelican/google, and I'm getting conflicting information.

So to simplify my question...where in the hell does it want the crank when hanging the chain for 4-6, and where does it want the crank when doing the 'Fine Timing Adjustment'? Sorry, just loosing my patients a bit.