Sponsored by:

Hello OR Goodbye?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2013, 11:28 AM
Fierofly
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hello OR Goodbye?

So I posted a Thread asking if there was a thread calling all IMS failures and, if NOT, let’s start one that keeps a record of year, model and mileage and known driving conditions of these failures. You’d thought I’d slapped your mama or something. It was closed by a moderator almost immediately. He claims he was asked by fellow members to stop the IMS failure conversations cause it leads to too many arguments about the validity and cause of this problem. That members where tired of reading about it. REALLY! You people just can’t, NOT click on those threads. Anyway ,Enough about THAT. I’ve been a mechanic my whole life, USAF Aircraft, B52, KC135, A10, I’ve also rebuilt just about every American made motor out there. I just started riding and working on Harleys (2011 FatBoy Lo} about 2yrs ago, so believe me, I know about Brand loyalty on Forums, but at least they’ll talk about it and try to defend.
I’ve only been interested in Porsche for about 2 weeks now and have been reading and studying the flat 6 since. What I’ve found so far is a severely flawed design in the IMS shaft that any engineer should have Identified and fixed many years ago. Who in their right mind would have installed an ISOLATED, sealed, ROLLER bearing in the middle of an engine crankcase? Maybe because people where too proud to openly talk about it in fear of damaging the Porsche reputation, I just DON’T get it.