996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

996 engine misses (she's not cute)

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2012, 10:07 PM
Tomasphil
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy 996 engine misses (she's not cute)

I have a 2004 996 C2, 320 hp, with 90k miles. About once a year the engine starts missing. By the time I get it to 9Elf Motorsports in Santa Rosa CA, it stops missing & is working ok. Like yesterday, I started it up, having driven it 4 days ago, when it was running fine. Yesterday, as soon as it starts, it starts missing, the "Check engine" light comes on, the speedometer msg "Drive to shop" comes on. I drove it about 5 miles, it's missing the whole time, like only 3 or 4 cylinders are firing, a real rough engine, poor acceleration, feel like I'm in an old VW! This morning I start it up, and it's not missing, drives normally. Any ideas what might be causing this? I've been using hi-test from CostCo for 6 months that has 10% ethenol, but have had no problems before. A year ago when it did this, 9Elf said maybe it was bad gasoline. Any ideas? I'm due for the 90k service. Thank you.
Old 11-05-2012, 10:48 PM
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User

Received 339 Likes on 245 Posts

Scan it. The code will give you an idea.
Old 11-05-2012, 10:51 PM
C4CRNA
Three Wheelin'

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts

Is it during damp or wet weather?
Car stored outside or in garage?
Old 11-05-2012, 11:01 PM
vange_c4s
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

codes please. coil pack maybe. use good gas.
Old 11-05-2012, 11:39 PM
street rod
Drifting

Received 265 Likes on 180 Posts

Faulty spark plug?
Old 11-06-2012, 12:02 PM
DBJoe996
Rennlist Member

Received 1,187 Likes on 759 Posts