Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Switched power in center console?

 
Old 05-19-2010, 02:28 PM
  #16  
LVDell
Super User
Thread Starter
 
LVDell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tobacco Road, NC
Posts: 5,226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Since I do NOT want charging while the car is off, I chose door #3 (switched)
LVDell is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:43 PM
  #17  
chsu74
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
chsu74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 7,921
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by LVDell View Post
Success.

FYI....you only have to removed the right side leather panel and side carpeted panel. That's all. You will see the 4 wire connector just sitting in the middle.

You'll want to test with a test light as well but I can tell you the following:

Front Left to Right in my Picture:
Wire#1 Brown NOTHING
Wire#2 Yellow NOTHING
Wire#3 Green SWITCHED
Wire#4 Red CONSTANT
Thanks Dell!

I saw that doing my fan mod when installing the switches on the bat wing for the fans. Since I didn't know, I just covered it up..
chsu74 is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:50 PM
  #18  
gota911
Newbies Hospitality Director
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
gota911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 18,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LVDell View Post
Success.

FYI....you only have to removed the right side leather panel and side carpeted panel. That's all. You will see the 4 wire connector just sitting in the middle.

You'll want to test with a test light as well but I can tell you the following:

Front Left to Right in my Picture:
Wire#1 Brown NOTHING
Wire#2 Yellow NOTHING
Wire#3 Green SWITCHED
Wire#4 Red CONSTANT
Dell, Tim (Picture *****) here! Just getting caught up on threads.

I see you located the wiring in the upper center center console!
gota911 is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:12 AM
  #19  
Orient Express
User
 
Orient Express's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SF bay area
Posts: 1,458
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LVDell View Post
Success.
Wire#1 Brown NOTHING
Wire#2 Yellow NOTHING
Wire#3 Green SWITCHED
Wire#4 Red CONSTANT
To further this:

Brown - Ground
Yellow - mute signal to radio
Green - Switched 12v
Red - Unswitched 12v
Orient Express is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:34 AM
  #20  
LVDell
Super User
Thread Starter
 
LVDell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tobacco Road, NC
Posts: 5,226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for being more specific
LVDell is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 07:27 AM
  #21  
Hurdigurdiman
Super User
 
Hurdigurdiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ephrata, PA, USA now. Originally from the UK
Posts: 3,072
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Orient Express View Post
To further this:

Brown - Ground
Yellow - mute signal to radio
Green - Switched 12v
Red - Unswitched 12v
You are able to get to this 4 wired plug without unscrewing anything via 'a pull away carpetted triangular side panel' by your right calf when seated in the driving position(LHD). It is hanging down on it's own. BTW thanks for the info. I wondered what this plug could be used for. Now i know thanks to these postings and marked it up accordingly.

PS sorry.. I see that posting #14 says just the same as I am saying. I discovered mine when I was removing an old hard wired Radar detector. Thanks to you guys I hard wired my newer Cobra Radar detector into the ignition switch part last night. Plan on doing the same to my tom tom GPS today so they are both controlled via the ignition. Saves all this plugging and unplugging into the cig lighter. The other day I did some spirited driving and on arriving home discovered that I had not plugged the tom tom into the lighter. That can't happen again.

Last edited by Hurdigurdiman; 12-10-2012 at 08:06 AM. Reason: posting #14
Hurdigurdiman is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 04:26 PM
  #22  
BioBanker
User
 
BioBanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 1,718
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great helpful (old) thread that needs a bump with a question.

How do you tap into that? What connectors are those?
BioBanker is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 05:40 PM
  #23  
clorigo
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: St Pete, FL
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BioBanker View Post
Great helpful (old) thread that needs a bump with a question.

How do you tap into that? What connectors are those?
I used a wire tap connector that I got from radio shack. The images below were from when I did the garage door mod but its the same:

wires-in-squeeze-tap
clorigo is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 06:17 PM
  #24  
b8_rdc
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 309
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What fuse rating is the switched 12v?
b8_rdc is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 06:28 PM
  #25  
Adker
User
 
Adker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West of East
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Becker Autosound
101 US HWY 46 W, 2nd Floor, Saddle Brook, NJ 07663
Parts: 201-773-0978


Telephone Power cable
Part# 5001.524

Last edited by Adker; 09-07-2013 at 11:06 PM.
Adker is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 06:39 PM
  #26  
BioBanker
User
 
BioBanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 1,718
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by clorigo View Post
I used a wire tap connector that I got from radio shack. The images below were from when I did the garage door mod but its the same:

wires-in-squeeze-tap
OK - so you didnt "plug" into those connectors then.

Thats easier (but maybe not as clean?)!
BioBanker is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 06:41 PM
  #27  
BioBanker
User
 
BioBanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 1,718
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Adker View Post
Becker Autosound
101 US HWY 46 W, 2nd Floor, Saddle Brook, NJ 07663
Parts: 201-773-0978


Telephone Power cable
Part# 5001.524
Thank you Adker - I will try to source that locally.
BioBanker is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 12:05 AM
  #28  
Todd Gilbert
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by b8_rdc View Post
What fuse rating is the switched 12v?
Did anyone figure this out? The constant on mine works fine - but the switched wire is not getting power even when the car is running. I'm using it for the remote turn on for a tiny sub behind the drivers seat - the main power is a wire straight to the battery.
Todd Gilbert is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:04 AM
  #29  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,294
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Pretty sure that it is a 10Amp fuse.
try fuse E6 & 8, are you sure that you are connected to the green wire?

fuse map in this thread
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-foru...any-ideas.html


fpb111 is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:27 AM
  #30  
Todd Gilbert
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fpb111 View Post
are you sure that you are connected to the green wire?
Yep - it’s the only one with green on it though it does have a black stripe. What’s weird is the constant wire works just fine - only the switches on isn’t getting any power regardless of ignition position.
Todd Gilbert is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Switched power in center console?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: