Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Advise needed: Extended Warranty through US Porsche Dealer - too good to be true?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 10:41 PM
jsmirand
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Advise needed: Extended Warranty through US Porsche Dealer - too good to be true?

I have a 2003 Carrera that I purchased with CPO about 20 months ago.

As the CPO coverage is about to expire, I received an offer from Porsche dealer in Tucson, 4 years, I recall 48k miles for $2300, fairly comprehensive coverage. There may also be additional warranty packages, I am just beginning to research, but this is the prelim info that the dealer's finance manager offered me.

Given the car is a 2003, 4 years seems frankly, longer coverage then I would expect would be easily available. The car has 20k miles, and even if I got 28k more miles of coverage spread over 2-3 years (to a maximum of 48k), I would consider $2300 a bargain in terms of 3 years protection.

My experience with Porsche Tucson has been positive. My CPO car had the engine blow (IMS) at 11k miles and they did a flawless job replacing it. The maintenance since has always been perfect. So they have been reputable to date.

The question is, if they sell coverage, and it almost seems too good to be true (4 more years on a 2003 model year), is there specific research I should do to see if giving them $2300 results in robust coverage? To me the peace of mind is worth it, provided if some serious mechanical problem develops that the dealer stands behind this warranty. I'm not worried about the $500-$1000 bills, but I want peace of mind in terms of the $15k engine bills as the car ages.

Any thoughts / recommendations / questions to ask if you were weighing this decision?

thank you,
John
Old 08-01-2009, 10:08 AM
Gaspasser19
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts