Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Color seems to make a big difference.....

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2006, 12:54 AM
signal
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Color seems to make a big difference.....

I am currently shopping for a 996. I noticed that it appears the color makes a big difference in resale value. For example, I see "Speed Yellow" getting a very big premium over other similarly equipped 996's.

Also it seems there is a lot of silver/gray out there, and those dont seem to get as much as other more flashly colors like red, yellow, or even blue.

It sucks for me, because Speed Yellow would be my first choice
Old 09-02-2006, 02:59 AM
s14roller
Racer

I've been shopping for a few months now and can't say I've seen much of a price difference. Sometimes the yellows, whites, reds, greens and blues go for less...

I guess it can be a hit or miss with the "flashy" colors in regards to resale.
Old 09-02-2006, 03:00 AM
996 MBA CFA
Instructor

speed yellow = speeding ticket.
Old 09-02-2006, 03:16 AM
Adrian
Addict
Lead Rennlist
Technical Advisor
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by signal
I am currently shopping for a 996. I noticed that it appears the color makes a big difference in resale value. For example, I see "Speed Yellow" getting a very big premium over other similarly equipped 996's.

Also it seems there is a lot of silver/gray out there, and those dont seem to get as much as other more flashly colors like red, yellow, or even blue.

It sucks for me, because Speed Yellow would be my first choice
Exterior and interior colour and their combination are major price drivers.
Here in Switzerland a Green exterior and a light interior will be on sale for significantly less and will take considerably longer to sell if it sells at all. White is not that popular here either.