Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Just got the new car into the driveway and found this...

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 10:10 PM
gdean2323
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got the new car into the driveway and found this...

Oil spots!

After a minor heart attack I starting to look for the culprit. It turned out to be a relatively easy thing to track down. Now, I'm not a mechanic, but this picture seems to scream RMS. That said, I did have a PPI done by a Porsche dealership, and specifically asked them about the RMS. They said it looked fine. So either they lied or its something that started in the 1000 mile drive home. Seems like a rather large amount of oil for a new leak.

So I have two questions:
1) I can not find any pictures of what a typical RMS leak looks so I am not 100% what I am looking at. Any suggestions/hints/advice?

2) If it is the RMS, should I fix it or should I wait until the clutch is gone? As far as I can tell the jury is still out on this one, but I'd like to see what the latest pulse of the RMS is.

UPDATE: 5-2-2006 thanks to some helpful advice I was able to get a better picutre of the RMS. It is definately not causing the leak. I'm thinking it might be the oil seperator, but would love to hear some more suggestions.
Attached Images   

Last edited by gdean2323; 05-02-2006 at 12:02 PM.
Old 04-30-2006, 10:26 PM
Grind
1st Gear

It could be the RMS and/or the Intermediate Shaft Seal. I just had both replaced under warranty on a 2002 C2 w/31,000 miles.

Grind
Old 04-30-2006, 11:18 PM
gdean2323
Intermediate

I use the term new loosely, as in new to me. its a 99 w/ 43k miles. I just read this:

"Indeed, many owners are moving away from the
prescribed Mobil 1 0040 lubricant to a more viscous
product, which functions perfectly well except in the
extreme conditions of persistent track or high-speed use.
Most of the 160,000 996 models sold worldwide lead
rather more sedate lives."

Has anyone tried this?