Put factory seats back in, now air bag light? - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 996 Forum
Reload this Page >

Put factory seats back in, now air bag light?

Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Put factory seats back in, now air bag light?

Reply

Old 03-04-2018, 08:50 AM
  #1  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default Put factory seats back in, now air bag light?

I recently pulled a set of Recaro SPGs out of my car, and did not have an airbag light, but now that I reinstalled a set of factory seats (not the ones original to the car) the airbag light has come on. Any ideas?
Thanks
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:12 AM
  #2  
Nickshu
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Nickshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 851
Default

If you turn the ignition on while the seat belts are disconnected you will get an airbag fault that must be reset with a Durametric, factory scanner, or similar. The seat belt latch sensors are monitored as part of the airbag system.
Nickshu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:14 AM
  #3  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks. I believe that they are connected. Or are you saying now that they have been reconnected and recognized by the car an error is thrown?
Do you have a picture showing proper seatbelt connection?
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 10:29 AM
  #4  
Nickshu
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Nickshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 851
Default

Originally Posted by jcc0016 View Post
Thanks. I believe that they are connected. Or are you saying now that they have been reconnected and recognized by the car an error is thrown?
Do you have a picture showing proper seatbelt connection?
Not in my experience. I have only had the error code if I accidentally turn on the ignition while the seats are out. You can mess up the connection, the little square green connector is not notched so it can go in different ways. I have never needed a photo b/c I put a dot with a sharpie on the top of mine. I would think if it were plugged in wrong, at least for the driver, the seat belt indicator on the dash would not go off when you buckle it. The airbag fault, unfortunately, must be reset regardless if it was plugged in correctly or not. It stores in the memory. Maybe try disconnecting the battery for 30 minutes or so to see if it clears, I have never tried that I have a Durametric so I just reset it if it happens.
Nickshu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:40 AM
  #5  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 2,851
Default

My understanding is the airbag warning light will not be reset by disconnecting the battery. It has to be done with the Porsche software, Durametric, or an advanced OBDII reader that supports airbag SRS systems. If you reset the airbag warning light and it comes right back on, then one of the connectors is hooked up wrong.
DBJoe996 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:15 PM
  #6  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

ok thanks guys.
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 07:02 PM
  #7  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

Why would i have not had the airbag error when the recaros were in and the belt receivers were not plugged in?
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 07:16 PM
  #8  
Nickshu
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Nickshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 851
Default

Originally Posted by jcc0016 View Post
Why would i have not had the airbag error when the recaros were in and the belt receivers were not plugged in?
No idea. I switch between GT3 euro seats and factory sport seats. If I hit the ignition when the belts are unplugged I get an airbag light.
Nickshu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 10:04 AM
  #9  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

Are there any watch outs I should be aware of when looking for a used Durametric? Is there an issue with it only being able to be used on one or two VINs?
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 10:11 AM
  #10  
Paul Waterloo
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Paul Waterloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,114
Default

If you have a 99, the Durametric software doesn't work on the early 99's for the airbags as I recall.....I think they updated the software recently, but can't remember the details, there is a thread here on this.
Paul Waterloo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 10:13 AM
  #11  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

Its an 02 C4S
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 03:43 PM
  #12  
Gbug
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 207
Default

Originally Posted by jcc0016 View Post
Why would i have not had the airbag error when the recaros were in and the belt receivers were not plugged in?
Sounds like the airbag sensor was correctly plugged in when the recaros were installed, hence no warning light, and when you put the factory seats back in, the sensor was not reconnected properly or the key was put in the ignition.
Gbug is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 04:17 PM
  #13  
jcc0016
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by Gbug View Post
Sounds like the airbag sensor was correctly plugged in when the recaros were installed, hence no warning light, and when you put the factory seats back in, the sensor was not reconnected properly or the key was put in the ignition.
Thanks, but there wasn't anything plugged into the recaros. Am I missing something, is the airbag sensor different than the wire on the seat belt receiver?
A picture of the airbag sensor and wiring would be helpful.
jcc0016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 08:56 PM
  #14  
dan_189
Super User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,137
Default

dan_189 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 09:14 PM
  #15  
Paul Waterloo
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Paul Waterloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,114
Default

It really shouldn't be that hard to figure out. You need to describe and take pictures of the connections that you took a parts and the ones you put back. You need to hook up a durametric. It will tell you what's wrong
Paul Waterloo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Put factory seats back in, now air bag light?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: