Sponsored by:

993 fuel safety

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2013, 10:34 AM
JB 911
Rennlist Member

Received 93 Likes on 67 Posts
Default 993 fuel safety

Well, with the sad turn of events this weekend, can't help but think about our +/- 17 year old cars and fuel safety.

I am pretty new to 993 ownership having my car for less than a year. Are there any fuel / line maintenance items that should be done on our cars besides a visual inspection of hoses etc? Or items that are prone to fail and warrant a inspection?

Since I have been following the 993 board, I don't think I've seen more than one or two cases of a fire, which is encouraging, and leads me to think our fuel systems are pretty robust, but you never know.

Has any body had a fuel leak, and where was it? If so , PLEASE share. It might allow others to inspect weak areas whenever inspecting the engine.
Old 12-03-2013, 03:44 AM
Martin S.
Rennlist Member

Received 524 Likes on 346 Posts
Default Fire Safety

The Carrera GT that caught fire was made of carbon fiber...your car is made of steel. I have been told by people that know, carbon fiber (CF) is very strong to a point; then it has a propensity to shatter. This makes me wonder about CF helmets, seats and other things. Steel won't shatter, if that is any comfort.

The 993 gas tank is behind the front struts...that is a little help + I believe there is a crumple zone on the 993. Diid the Carrera GT have to pass the DOT crash test? Don't know.

I have a 2 1/2 Lb. halon extinguisher mounted in the "cockpit"...if one is really concerned about a potential fire, for about $1,000 you can have a big halon system installed...it can be operated manually, or optionally, it will discharge on impact.
Old 12-03-2013, 05:35 AM
Aussie Alan 993
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts