Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OT: How did you buy your first Porsche?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2003, 11:43 AM
gs
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: How did you buy your first Porsche?

I've been saving for a few years toward one day buying a 911. (Right now, I'm hoping to get into a 993). The thread on rennlisters' ages a while back, and the occasional "your Dad's buying you a TT?!" post has gotten me thinking...

If you don't mind me asking, how did you buy your first P-car?

I'm just curious - there's a great variety of enthusiasts here - forgive me in advance (FMIA?) if I've offended any one.

Thanks.
Old 07-18-2003, 11:50 AM
graham_mitchell
Banned

Received 443 Likes on 242 Posts

I was 22 when I bought my first. I was starting to do quite well at work and could afford it. Even 10 years later in my 2nd Porsche, people assume it's "Daddy's car". Pretty annnoying!
Old 07-18-2003, 11:56 AM
billh1963
Rennlist Member

Received 337 Likes on 189 Posts

Bought mine this year as my 40th b'day present. I think you'll find most of the people on this board bought their car on their own when they thought that they could afford it (or couldn't wait any longer!).
Old 07-18-2003, 12:08 PM
p_carfan
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

When I got out of the U.S.Army, in '71 after a tour in Southeast Asia, I bought a bright orange '69 911T with my ETS nest egg....her name was "Pumpkin". In those days the 911's had a few more bugs than now. I still have fond memories of that car. I vividly remember going to pick a young lady up for a date and her saying "Is that a new Corvair".

Those were the days .

Cheers
Steve

Last edited by p_carfan; 07-18-2003 at 02:16 PM.
Old 07-18-2003, 12:15 PM
RJT
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 353 Likes on 157 Posts