Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Engine reassembly, sanity checklist.

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2011, 01:02 AM
berni29
Pro

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Engine reassembly, sanity checklist.

Hi There

I have a couple of weeks off work soon and I am looking to reassemble my 993 engine. It is on a stand with the top end stripped. So just conrods sticking out of the case.

I have the following replacement parts:

Reconditioned and fully rebuilt heads
Secondhand low mile P's & C's
Wrightwood racing gasket set
Power steering belt
Distributor belt
Alternator
Fan bearing
Tensioner ramps

Everything else will be going back on the engine having been checked and cleaned. I have not touched the injectors, but did run BG 44K through the car pre assembly.

My cams are the early 964 type with the woodruff keys.

Is there anything I should be getting ahead of time that I might have forgotten?

How much time should I allow bearing in mind this is my first time?

Edit, one of the top distributor bearings is past it's best. Does anyone know where to get replacement bearings? It came apart when I pulled the shaft out. It does go back together, but the inner top race is stuck on the shaft.

Many thanks for your thoughts.....

Berni
Old 12-06-2011, 06:51 AM
geolab
Rennlist Member

Received 173 Likes on 119 Posts

On first reflex,
I would definitely change both chains, you have the new ramps
and pump seals

as for the distributor bearing, you can put it back together and re-grease. The top should disengage from the shaft.
Take some pictures of where you are with the distributor...
ps: you can mount the distrubutor when engine is in the car no problem if need be.
Old 12-06-2011, 10:44 AM
berni29
Pro

Hi Geolab

Thank you for the reply. I was wondering about the chains. I am not splitting the case, but can get the split link chains so may well do that. Pump seals, you mean power steering pump seals? Will do if so.