Momo Horn beep beep

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2011, 12:32 AM
Nollie
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Momo Horn beep beep

As Eric in Chicago said:
Standard disclaimer apply, Your results may not be the same as mine if you screw something up, I am not a professional modifier nor do I know what I am doing most of the time. So try this at your own risk. If your going to do this to a street car, be aware, this may have a negative impact on your ability to collect on a claim should you be involved in an accident as our cars are stock with airbags. (my 2 cents) I provide the below as a description of what I have done, not as an instruction; it's possible I did something wrong.

References:
https://rennlist.com/forums/993-foru...highlight=momo
https://rennlist.com/forums/993-foru...pressions.html
https://rennlist.com/forums/993-foru...-long-dyi.html

Ok, now that that is out of the way I thought I'd contribute based on my experience with the dreaded momo horn button install. It's not too bad once you get it worked out; but for some reason the above references lacked in their pictures or the description of two key components the horn wiring and the airbag resistor.

I'm not going to cover how I took everything apart, I feel that's fairly well covered in the posts above. One thing I'd like to add however is removing the lower dash is going to made it easier to take out the clock spring wires and not have to cut anything. I already had the Rennline lower dash but imho it's well worth the effort.

Prior to taking everything apart I made a few resistors (extra to make sure I had more if I messed up). I bought 0.062 male molex connectors and 3.0ohm 1/4W resistors from Mouser Electronics. I soldered 18gauge wire (as specified by the molex connectors specs) to the resistors, then crimped the molex connectors to the ends like so: